✓ We never sell your information. No community can call you unless you ask them to.

Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria

1220 Suey Road, Santa Maria, CA 93454

About Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria

Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria is a licensed residential care facility for the elderly in Santa Maria, Santa Barbara County, California, offering assisted living. Licensed for 330 residents. The monthly price shown is a Chapter estimate for this area and care level — the community can claim this listing and publish its verified pricing.

Assisted living

Last state inspection visit: September 23, 2026 · 2 citations in about five years

Published pricing

Starting atStarting rate (apartment size and care level not stated)
$3,500/mo

Published by Merrill Gardens on merrillgardens.com, checked October 27, 2026. Starting prices usually cover the smallest apartment; personal care is often billed on top, so ask for a quote based on the apartment and care you need.

Transparent monthly cost

Base rent
$5,600
Care add-onAssisted living, average acuity
$1,100
All-in / month
$6,700
One-time community fee
$3,000
Estimated for this area & care level — not yet verified by the community. Are you this provider? Claim & set your real price.

Medi-Cal & Medicare

The Medi-Cal Assisted Living Waiver isn't offered in Santa Barbara County, and Medicare does not pay for assisted living.

How Medi-Cal, ALW & Medicare work for assisted living

State inspection record

Last state visit
September 23, 2026
State visits on record5 routine inspections · 5 complaints investigated
16
Complaint allegations3 substantiated · 5 not proven
8
Type A citationsMost serious: immediate risk to residents
1
Type B citationsLess serious: could become a risk if not fixed
1

For comparison, 28% of larger communities (7+ beds) in California have no Type A citations, and the typical one has 2 Type A citations and 3 Type B citations. Larger homes get visited and cited more often, so compare like with like, and read what each citation was for.

Hospice waiver
What these terms mean
  • Type A citations are the most serious: a violation that poses an immediate or substantial risk to residents' health, safety or personal rights.
  • Type B citations are less serious violations that could become a risk to residents if they aren't corrected.
  • Substantiated: The state found the allegation was true.
  • Not proven (inconclusive or unsubstantiated): There wasn't enough evidence to prove or disprove the allegation.
  • Unfounded: The state found the allegation was false or couldn't have happened.

Read Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria's full inspection and complaint reports on the state's site · How to read a California inspection record

From California Community Care Licensing (license #425850140), covering about the last five years, as of October 27, 2026.

The facts

Provider typeAssisted living
State license425850140
Ownership—
Licensed capacity330 residents
Licensed since2021
Phone(805) 928-2662
Regulatory details sourced from state licensing.

Book a tourFree · no calls unless you ask

Add an email or a phone number so they can reach you.

Your info stays private. It goes to this community only. We never sell your data or pass it to anyone else — and no one else can contact you.
Compare others

Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria cost & FAQ

How much does Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria cost?

Merrill Gardens publishes a starting price of $3,500 per month for Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria (starting rate (apartment size and care level not stated)), as of October 27, 2026. Starting prices usually cover the smallest apartment; personal care is often billed on top. Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria's all-in monthly cost is estimated at about $6,700: base rent of about $5,600 plus a typical assisted living add-on of about $1,100. Expect a one-time community fee of around $3,000. This is an estimate based on Santa Maria-area prices for this care level; Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria hasn't verified it yet, so confirm the current rate when you tour.

What does the monthly price at Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria include?

The all-in figure combines base rent (room, meals and basic services) with the typical care add-on for average needs. Care costs rise with the level of help a resident needs, so ask Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria for an assessment-based quote.

What type of care does Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria provide?

Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria is listed for assisted living. It holds California state license #425850140 and is licensed for up to 330 residents.

Does Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria accept Medi-Cal?

The Medi-Cal Assisted Living Waiver isn't available in Santa Barbara County, and Medicare does not pay for assisted living, so most residents here pay privately, sometimes with long-term care insurance or VA benefits.

Has Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria had any state citations or complaints?

In about the last five years of California Community Care Licensing records (as of October 27, 2026), the state visited Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria 16 times, most recently on September 23, 2026. It received 1 Type A citation (the most serious kind) and 1 Type B citation. The state investigated 5 complaints: 3 allegations were substantiated, 5 not proven and 0 unfounded. Read the full reports on the state's Care Facility Search before you decide.

How do I tour Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria?

Pick a time in the tour booker on this page and your request goes to Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria only. Chapter never sells your information, and you won't get calls from referral agents. You can also call the community directly at (805) 928-2662.

Compare prices nearby: senior living costs in Santa Maria · 2026 California cost report

Are you the owner of Merrill Gardens At Santa Maria? Claim your listing to set your real pricing, add your photos, and receive families who reach out — free.
Claim this listing
Listings are sourced from public California licensing records. Pricing is estimated from regional averages until each community verifies its own.